Home » Community

University honoured top women

5 September 2010 No Comment

Three distinguished women at the University of Pretoria celebrated the Women’s month of August by being the winners of 2010 South African Women in Science Awards (WISA).

Professor Sue Nicolson, received the award in the category of Distinguished Woman Scientist in the Life Sciences.

In the newly established category of Distinguished Woman Scholar in Social Sciences or Humanities in this year’s WISA, Proff Stella Nkomo and Erika de Wet were the winners of the award.

The awards were hosted by the Department of Science and technology as part of the government effort to recognize women scientists and researchers in the country.   They also profile successful women scientists whose achievements in research inspire the nation and particularly young women.

The Minister of Science and Technology, Mrs Naledi Pandor acknowledged the extraordinary achievements of women working in the field of science, engineering, technology and innovation.

She also said the winners will aid the department’s plans to popularise careers in science and research by participating in a range of public initiates.

“I congratulate the award winners and also thank them for serving as role models to young girls and women. It is with the help and example of extraordinary women such as them, that we can help inspire other women to succeed”, said Minister Pandor.

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.